My Angel MOTHER

“All I am or ever hope to be I owe to my angel -my Mother.”
– Abraham Lincoln

20160103_192301

Dear Mom,

I found this angel in a box of Christmas decorations I had brought over from your place. Is this the same angel that was sitting on that mantel area next to your fireplace all this time?

I don’t know why I didn’t notice the words on it over the more recent years. I am sure I bought this for you at least 3 or 4 or more years before. But somewhere along the way, it got so familiar, just part of the other items in that area, that the message got lost to me. The words somehow became invisible.

But now that I’ve found it, the words, the rose against her cheek, the clinking of her transparent wings, the light green of her dress, the heavy drape of her falling sleeves and the old style letters on her skirt feel as if they are engraved deep within me.  Isn’t it funny how the value of something can shift so extremely?  Something I hardly looked at before has become one of the center pieces of my home and heart now.

When did I give this to you, Mom?
Did you ever read the words on it?

Or did you just feel its message, because of that Motherly magic of yours?

I keep it on my kitchen counter now, near where I do the dishes. I swear that on some days, when I look at it, or move it into the living room, it appears as if the face has changed- like the angel’s head has tilted to a slightly different angle. Like she, or you, are secretly watching me or watching over me.  Probably just wishful thinking. But either way, it has become one of the most precious items around my place.

I know that you were my angel mother on earth, but I hope that you truly are my angel up in heaven. That would mean that you are weightless, free with beautiful wings to carry you wherever you wish. And it would mean that you are free from any pain or suffering. That you are surrounded by, and filled with beauty, peace and love- that is my wish for you.

You always have been, and always will be, my Angel MOTHER.

I hope the other angels know how lucky they are to have you up there.

 

 

Leave a Reply

