Dollarama Dates

Photo by Hassan OUAJBIR on Pexels.com

Hi Mom,

I think I am off to the dollar shop, a Dollarama nearby, and I wish you could come with me. I know how much you loved dollar shops.

Whenever I go into one, I think of you. The simplicity of it, the play and exploration and fun. And the reminder that it doesn’t have to take much to get us excited about things and life. And the best things don’t have to cost much, maybe a dollar, or a dollar fifty these days, if that.

You always reminded me of what was really important: caring, smiling, finding little surprises and the thought behind the littlest gesture. You taught me that the little things are the big things. And dollar shops remind me of that.

I wish we could have gone on Dollarama Dates. They could have been pre-planned or spontaneous. And I imagine us going into the shop and picking out our favourite things. Or going with your granddaughters and son, and having kind of like a secret Santa. But instead of Santa, it would be a Dollarama.

And we would put all our names in a hat, that we would find at the Dollarama, of course. And we would get the name of the person we were buying for without them seeing.

And then we all scatter to pick out the best gifts for that person.

What if one person picks out a million things, and another picks out two? And who pays? Well, here’s the fun part. See, it’s a dollar shop so I think we each get 5 bucks? Maybe 10? Actually, I think 5 is better. Because then we take the time to really be selective with a few good items.

And since it’s my idea, I give everyone 5 dollars each (even though we know your son will not only want to pay, but will suggest we each get a hundred dollars, or go somewhere name brand- haha).

But the point is to appreciate the little things and run around one of the funnest, quickest kind of stores with all kinds of weird stuff. And see what everyone comes up with for their person.

And mainly, to hang out and think of each other in a unique way, with a unique token of a gift or gifts.

What do you think? What would you want to get for each person? Or what would you want to receive? What were your favourite items at dollar shops?

Maybe we could still do it, vibrationally, with you and me to start.

I will go into a dollar shop, and you guide me as to what you want to see, what I should buy, or what I should just pick up, and take in more.

What should we take with us?

Maybe you have already been going on Dollarama Dates with you, because I smile and laugh a lot when I see things I think you would like or just find funny.

I am just making it more official now. Let’s celebrate simplicity, giving, and the little things. After all, they are all values that my mother taught me.

Thanks, Mom, for all the beautiful lessons.

Love always and forever, Tas

Published by trajwani

Lover of words, cultures, art, magic moments, children, soulful endeavours, dance, and music, music, music.

Leave a comment